EurAsia Cup: New Europe v Asia Event in 2014

in News

eurasia-cupIt has been announced that next year will see a new match play tournament added to the roster. The EurAsia Cup will be held at Glenmarie Golf and Country Club in Malaysia over the 28th to the 30th March 2014, in a tournament format similar to that of the Ryder Cup.

The cup will be held every two years, with a ten-man team from Europe and Asia going head to head. The ten man team from Europe will be the four best available from the world rankings, the Race to Dubai 2013 top four and two captains’ picks. The captains will be picked at some point in the future.

Based on current ranking, the players that would play at the moment are:

  • Henrik Stenson , who was first in Race to Dubai and is 10th in world rankings
  • Graeme McDowell , who was second in Race to Dubai, and is ninth in world rankings
  • Justin Rose , who was third in Race to Dubai, and is fifth in world rankings
  • Matteo Manassero , who was fifth in Race to Dubai
  • Rory McIlroy, 4th in the world rankings
  • Luke Donald 11th in the world rankings
  • Lee Westwood 13th in the world rankings
  • Ian Poulter, 17th in the world rankings

If you like to bet on sporting events such as golf tournaments, you’ll be able to get all the odds, get welcome bonuses and £25 bets free on

This new tournament cements Asia’s emergence as a golfing power, with young players such as Hideki Matsuyama expected to be the star in the Asian team, after his three top 20 finishes in majors in 2012. It will be a good opportunity to grow the bonds between Asia and Europe, and to get away from the rude fans of the USA who occasionally boo during difficult shots to distract players.

The new EurAsia Cup will increase the ever growing popularity of the sport; at it will be beamed live on television to more than 45 countries and into 670 million homes.

The creators of the new tournament hope that it will rival the Ryder Cup in popularity. The Ryder Cup is played between Europe and the USA; with the history of the cup going right back until 1927. Europe currently holds the Cup after it was last played at the Medinah Country Club in Illinois, USA.

Sponsored Links

Previous post:

Next post: